Dean Grant Named BC Grand Champion at 2014 Professional Truck Driving Championships

For immediate release: 
Jun 24, 2014

Langley, British Columbia– Agrifoods International Co-op driver Dean Grant of Duncan, BC, won the Grand Champion title at BC’s 2014 Professional Truck Driving Championships on Saturday, June 21, 2014, at Abbotsford’s Tradex Centre.

Dean Grant is a veteran of the BC event and was named Grand Champion at both the 2009 and 2010 championships and was a member of the BC Team that won the National competition in Ottawa in 2008.

Rookie of the Year is Stephen Scott, who drives for Simard Westlink, while Rob Balan, sponsored by Ocean Trailer, received the 2014 Safety Award.

Within the remaining categories, first place winners include: Evan Hirst, competing as an independent, in Single-Single; Dale Scott, sponsored by Fountain Tire, in Single-Tandem; Brian Meredith, of McRae’s Environmental Services, in Tandem-Tandem; and Lorne Roadhouse, of Overland West Freight Lines Ltd., in Super B-Train. Dale Scott and Lorne Roadhouse also won within their categories in 2013.

Each of the category winners will represent BC in the 2014 National Championships in Esterel, Quebec from Thursday, September 4 to Sunday, September 7, 2014, competing against elite driver teams from other provincial competitions across Canada.

The Championships consist of:

  • a written test, which challenges the drivers’ general knowledge of the industry and equipment;
  • a pre-trip inspection, which approximates the drivers’ regular vehicle inspection; and
  • the driving competition, which simulates the everyday skills of maneuvering, cornering and judging distance.

To compete, drivers must have no preventable accidents in the twelve months prior to the championships. A “preventable accident” could include even a minor occurrence such as a broken tail light on a trailer.

A banquet at the Sheraton Guildford Hotel in Surrey followed the competition, with Ken Martin, Organizing Committee Chair, and Gary Ryder, Chief Judge, Chevron Canada Limited, presenting the awards to winners in each class.

2014 BC Professional Truck Driving Championships Winners:

Grand Champion: Dean Grant, Duncan, Agrifoods International Co-op

Rookie of the Year: Stephen Scott, Simard Westlink

Safety Award: Rob Balan, Surrey, Ocean Trailer (sponsor)

Team Trophy: Independent Team #2: Dean Grant, Evan Hirst, Dale Scott, Rob Balan, and Jose Lecinana

Straight Truck:

1st Place: Dean Grant, Duncan, Agrifoods International Co-op

2nd Place: John Lawley, Abbotsford, YRC Reimer

3rd Place: Danny Wilson, Langley, Mindful Trucking Inc.

NOTE: Straight Truck results above were corrected June 27, 2014.  Sincere apologies to John Lawley, Danny Wilson (originally reported as 2nd) and Steve Dawydiak (originally reported in 3rd place) for the errors.


1st Place: Evan Hirst, Richmond, Independent

2nd Place: Jose Lecinana, Sooke, Independent

3rd Place: Terry Loftus, YRC Reimer


1st Place: Dale Scott, Mission, Fountain Tire (sponsor)

2nd Place: Gord Foster, Coquitlam, YRC Reimer

3rd Place: Jaswinder Diyal, Surrey, TransX Ltd.


1st Place: Brian Meredith, Surrey, McRae’s Environmental Services

2nd Place: John Broker, Port Coquitlam, Martin Brower

3rd Place: Andy Clark, Langley, Overland West Freight Lines Ltd.

Super B-Train:

1st Place: Lorne Roadhouse, Langley, Overland West Freight Lines Ltd.

2nd Place: David Lighton, Surrey, Air Liquide

3rd Place: Tyson Homan, Langley, Ken Johnson Trucking Ltd.

The 2014 BC Professional Truck Driving Championships were hosted by the British Columbia Trucking Association (BCTA) and the Trucking Safety Council of BC and supported by donations from the following sponsors: (Gold) Inland Kenworth, B&W Insurance, Bridgestone Canada, Husky Energy and Overland West, along with (Silver) WorkSafeBC and (Bronze) Teamsters 31 and BFL Insurance Services.

Loans of equipment were gratefully accepted from Simard Westlink, Ken Johnson Trucking, YRC Reimer, FedEx, Overland West Freightlines, Home Hardware, Harbour International, and Ocean Trailer.

BCTA is the recognised voice of the provincial motor carrier industry, representing over 1,000 truck and motor coach fleets and over 250 suppliers to the industry. BCTA members operate over 13,000 vehicles, employ 26,000 people, and generate over $2 billion in revenue annually in the province.


Media Contact:

Ken Martin, Organizing Committee Chair
Mobile: 778-229-9034