BC Trucking Association Announces Board of Directors and Executive Committee for 2014-15

For immediate release: 
Jun 10, 2014

Langley, British Columbia— On June 7, 2014, the British Columbia Trucking Association (BCTA) elected a Board of Directors for 2014 – 2015 at BCTA’s Management Conference and Annual General Meeting in Kelowna, BC. BCTA’s new Executive Committee, elected by the Board, is headed by Chairperson Kevin Johnson, Vice President of Coastal Pacific Xpress (CPX), Inc.

Mr. Johnson has served on the BCTA Board of Directors since 2009 and joined the Executive Committee as First Vice Chairperson in 2012. He has also been a member of the Canadian Trucking Alliance Board of Directors since 2010 and represents BCTA on the Blue Ribbon Task Force on the Driver Shortage. Mr. Johnson began work for CPX, a Surrey-based trucking and logistics company specializing in temperature-controlled and “just in time” overnight deliveries, as an owner-operator in 1998. After more than seven years on the road, he joined the company as a Driver Trainer and was quickly promoted to the position of Driver Resource Manager, responsible for everything driver related, including training and compliance. He worked as the company Operations Manager from the fall of 2007 to the summer of 2010, when he “moved upstairs” and became the Director of Corporate Governance.

He was named senior Vice President in 2012 and now manages operations of a fleet comprising more than 350 trucks and over 550 refrigerated trailers that serve major markets throughout North America.

BCTA will benefit from the valuable experience and passion for the industry that Mr. Johnson brings to the Association as a former driver, a trainer and an operations manager at a time when the trucking industry in BC and across Canada is grappling with the need to attract more workers – especially well-trained and skilled professional truck drivers.  

Mr. Johnson is joined on BCTA’s Executive Committee by:  

  • First Vice Chairperson: Trevor Sawkins, Coldstar Freight Systems Inc., Victoria
  • Second Vice Chairperson: Ken Johnson, Ken Johnson Trucking Ltd., Langley
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Gerry Cullen, Western Star & Sterling Trucks of Vancouver Inc., Surrey
  • Immediate Past Chairperson: Greg Munden, Munden Ventures Ltd., Kamloops
  • Associate Members’ Representative: Ben Boon, Chevron Canada Ltd., Vancouver
  • Director-at-Large: Phil Bandstra, Bandstra Transportation Systems Ltd., Smithers

In addition to members of the Executive Committee, the new Board of Directors includes:

  • Andrew Anderson, Sylvite Transportation Group Ltd., Abbotsford
  • Michael Bennett, CMW Insurance Services Ltd., Burnaby
  • Jim Charles, Berry & Smith Trucking Ltd., Penticton
  • Kevin Clark, Valley West Transport Ltd., Port Coquitlam
  • Rob Coghill, JBC Transport Inc., Delta
  • Clinton Connell, Eagle West Truck & Crane Inc., Abbotsford
  • Doug Elliot, Apex Industrial Movers, Delta
  • Jerry Gallant , First Truck Centre Vancouver Inc., Surrey
  • Ron Gauley, Halton Recycling Ltd. dba EMTERRA Environmental, Chilliwack
  • Grant Hankins, Progressive Waste Solutions, Coquitlam
  • Rick McArthur , Macal Bulk Transport Ltd., Port Coquitlam
  • Brendan McCullough, McCullough Coach Lines Ltd., Victoria
  • Gary McLeod, Northern BC Truckers Association, Dawson Creek
  • Darren Racine, Protrux Systems, Inc., Pitt Meadows
  • Murray Scadeng, Triton Transport Ltd., Langley
  • Paul Schroeder, Bison Transport Inc., Delta
  • Doug Sutherland, Sutco Transportation Specialists, Salmo
  • Stacey Spencer, Canada West Coachlines Ltd., Kamloops
  • Stephen Szalkai, BC Ready-Mixed Concrete Association/Rempel Bros. Concrete Ltd., Vancouver
  • Mick Thomas, Davey Cartage Company Ltd., Surrey
  • Gary Vos, Tri-R Transport Ltd., Richmond
  • Dan Watson, Canada Cartage, Langley
  • Don Watt, Maple Leaf Loading Ltd., Prince George
  • Jim White, Commercial Logistics Inc., Richmond
  • Patrick Yearwood, Yearwood and Company - Lawyers, Surrey
  • Mitchell Zulinick, Arrow Transportation Systems Inc., Kamloops

- 30 -

BCTA, a member-based, non-profit, non-partisan advocacy organization, is the recognised voice of the provincial motor carrier industry, representing over 1,000 truck and motor coach fleets and over 250 suppliers to the industry. BCTA members operate over 13,000 vehicles, employ 26,000 people, and generate over $2 billion in revenue annually in the province.

For more information, please contact:

Trace Acres, BCTA Vice President
Office: 604- 888-5319, ext. 211
Cell: 604-970-1795  
Toll free: 1-800-565-2282

Kevin Johnson, BCTA Chairperson / Vice President, CPX
Office: 604-575-0983, ext. 335
Cell: 604-809-8676
Toll-free: 1-800-663-8534