BC’s Chuck Strahl New Federal Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities

Posted on Thu, 2010-08-12 11:24

Prime Minister Stephen Harper’s cabinet shuffle on August 6, 2010, has moved Indian Affairs Minister Chuck Strahl, with whom BCTA has met twice in recent years as a member of the BC Conservative caucus, to the Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, replacing the Honourable John Baird, who takes over as the new Government House Leader.

BCTA sent a letter of congratulations to Minister Strahl, indicating our willingness to work with the ministry and to act as a resource on transportation issues. In addition, the Canadian Trucking Alliance (CTA) will be requesting a meeting to update the minister on current industry concerns.

Minister Strahl, who is the member for Chilliwack-Fraser Canyon, was a partner in a successful road construction and logging contracting firm before his election to Parliament in 1993, and held the responsibility of managing several operations throughout the Fraser Valley. He has shown a both a good understanding of the trucking industry and empathy for small business.

The Honourable Chuck Strahl was appointed Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board in February 2006. In August 2007, he was named Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development and Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians. Mr. Strahl has lived his entire life in the Fraser Valley.

Upcoming Events

Delta Hotels by Marriott Grand Okanagan Resort, June 9-11, 2023, Kelowna, BC   Join us at the BCTA AGM & Management Conference to: Learn more about vital industry issues to grow your business and reduce risk, Network with other members, government and partner organization representatives, Find out more about BCTA and provide input to advocacy initiatives, Relax with industry friends in a comfortable, professional setting.
Join Dave Earle, BCTA's President & CEO to have your questions answered and learn about the ELD mandate directly from MoTI NSC Staff.